Struggles

Have you ever heard the saying “God won’t give you more than you can handle.”? Or what about “I know God won’t give me more than I can handle. I just wish He didn’t trust me so much.” Yeah, they’ve pretty much been thrown around for ages. I have also heard people say that phrase is “somewhere in the Bible”, but I promise you it isn’t. Neither are a lot of other “Christian” sayings. I admit, I used to say them too–especially when someone I knew was going through extreme hardship or heartache. But this is one I definitely don’t say anymore. You know why? Because it’s NOT TRUE!

Now, before you start throwing tomatoes at me and blowing up my news feed to tell me how wrong I am, listen to this. A few years ago I read something (I wish I remembered where because I would link to it.) that put it this way (my paraphrase & emphasis)–“God will ALWAYS give you more than YOU can handle. He will NEVER give you more than HE can handle.” Basically, God is the One who knows what we need. He can handle anything that we may face–we just have to TRUST HIM to handle it.

So, now I no longer throw out that cliché. What I do is pray and explain to everyone I know that through God they can handle anything. Remember, a verse that IS in the Bible is this “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13. That’s what I share with others. Christ is the One who gives you the strength to handle things that are beyond your capabilities. He is the One who provides the strength for you to get up another day and face things that you don’t want to face. So, stop throwing out those old phrases to people and TRUST HIM! He’s got this!

philippians_4_13

Leave a Reply

